January is School Board Recognition Month

January is School Board Recognition Month, and Lockhart ISD joins other districts across Texas in recognizing the dedication and commitment of the leaders who serve on the Board of Trustees. Elected to office, each represents the interests and voices of community members, but most importantly, the students who attend our schools.

The LISD Board is comprised of Brenda Spillmann (President), Carl Cisneros (Vice President), Tom Guyton (Secretary), Steve Johnson, Michael Wright, Becky Lockhart, and Warren Burnett.

Board members carry tremendous responsibility and often make difficult choices. Serving as a crucial link between the community and classroom, this Board is responsible for an annual budget over $51 million, 5,720 students, 698 employees, and 10 campuses.

In a fast growing-district, they closely follow demographic data to ensure the district is keeping pace with growth while at the same time boosting student success. They also serve as representatives outside of the district, advocating for public education and issues that impact Lockhart ISD students.

“Lockhart ISD is fortunate to have a school board that, as a team, is focused on students first and on building high expectations for our children and this community. The work they do is as volunteers and in addition to other responsibilities with careers and families,” said Superintendent Susan Bohn. “The leadership of our Board is foundational to the success of our staff and students. Please join me in thanking our trustees for their service.”

The school district will host a formal recognition event at the Board meeting Monday, Jan. 23, 2017.